Power stations expected to close before 2025

A number of coal- and oil-fired power stations are due to close by the end of 2015 as they have opted out of the Large Combustion Plants Directive (LCPD). These plants may shut sooner if they have already used up their 20,000 hours limited running allowance. Nuclear power stations which are reaching the end of their operational lives have expected closure dates, but these may be extended in some circumstances.

Plant closures to 2025				Plant closures to 2025			
Power station	Operator	Capacity (GW)	Expected closure date	Power station	Operator	Capacity (GW)	Expected closure date
Coal				Nuclear (Magno	ox)		
Cockenzie	ScottishPower	1.2	by 2015	Oldbury	NDA	0.	4 2011
Didcot A	RWE npower	2.0	by 2015	Wylfa	NDA	1.	0 2012
Ferrybridge	Scottish and Southern Energy	1.0	by 2015				
Ironbridge	E.ON UK	1.0	by 2015	Nuclear (AGR)			
Kingsnorth	E.ON UK	2.0	by 2015	Hartlepool	British Energy	1.	2 2014
Tilbury	RWE npower	1.1	by 2015	Heysham 1	British Energy	1.	2 2014
				Hinkley Point B	British Energy	0.	8 2016
Oil				Hunterston B	British Energy	0.	9 2016
Fawley	RWE npower	1.0	by 2015	Dungeness B	British Energy	1.	0 2018
Grain	E.ON UK	1.4	by 2015	Heysham 2	British Energy	1.	2 2023
Littlebrook	RWE npower	1.1	by 2015	Torness	British Energy	1.	2 2023
						Total 20.	7